This page is also available in: English Español Hmong

CAASPP Program

C.C.R., Title 5, Sec. 850-870; E.C. 60600-60652; B.P. 6162.51; A.R. 6162.51

This year students in grade 11 will participate in the California Assessment of Student Performance and Progress (CAASPP) system by taking two computer-based tests (English Language Arts/Literacy and Mathematics). These tests were developed by the Smarter Balanced Assessment Consortium (SBAC) to provide an academic check up for students by measuring real-world skills like critical thinking and problem solving. Some students will also take the California Science Test (CAST) depending on when they take their last science class.  The CAST is a computer-based test that consists of stand-alone items and performance tasks that measure students understanding of scientific areas such as life science, earth and space science, and physical science.

For grade 11 students, whose Individualized education program indicates, shall participate in an alternate assessment aligned with the alternate academic achievement standards. The California Alternate Assessments (CAAs) for English Language Arts/Literacy, mathematics, and science are part of the CAASPP system and measure what students know and can do. These measures help identify and address gaps in knowledge or skills early so students can receive the support they need.  Visit California’s statewide student assessment system at for more information.

Early Assessment Program (EAP)

The Early Assessment Program (EAP) helps students determine their readiness to take college-level general education written communication and math/quantitative reasoning courses before attending a California State University (CSU), or one of the participating California Community Colleges (CCC).

All 11th Grade students will participate in the California Assessment of Student Performance and Progress (CAASPP) in English Language Arts/Literacy and mathematics.  EAP results are included on the CAASPP Student Score Reports that students will receive from their high school.  These score reports provide an indicator of a student’s readiness to take college-level courses.  EAP results are not used for admission.  Learn more at

English Language Proficiency Assessments for California (ELPAC)

The ELPAC is California’s new assessment used to determine the English proficiency of students whose primary language is a language other than English. The ELPAC replaces the California English Language Development Test (CELDT) and is  given to students who are English Learners to measure how well they are progressing  in English language proficiency in each of four domains.  The results are used to verify English proficiency, which is one of four criteria used to determine if a student is ready to be redesignated  as fluent English proficient and to inform proper educational placement. For additional information, visit the CDE ELPAC website at or the ELPAC website at

California High School Proficiency Examination

The California High School Proficiency Examination (CHSPE) is a program established by California law. E.C. 48412. If eligible to take the test, you can earn the legal equivalent of a high school diploma by passing the CHSPE. The CHSPE consists of two (2) sections: an English-language Arts section and a Mathematics section.If you pass both sections, the California State Board of Education will award you a Certificate of Proficiency, which by state law is equivalent to a high school diploma.

You may take CHSPE if, on testing day, you:

  • Are at least 16 years old; or
  • Have enrolled in the 10th grade for one (1) academic year or longer; or
  • Will complete one (1) academic year of enrollment in the 10th grade at the end of the semester during which the next regular administration will be conducted.
Back to top